Sportlomo and Sports HQ make Rugby Union Australia Shortlist

SYDNEY October 22, 2017

Sportlomo in partnership with Sports HQ have been shortlisted as one of the final five software technology providers for Rugby Union in Australia.

Sportlomo CEO, Seamus Kyne flew to Australia to join Jase Farmer CEO of Sports HQ at a presentation of Sportlomo’s Rugby Platform and HQ Communication Platform to Rugby Union officials in their headquarters in Sydney on Monday 22nd October 2017.

The bid to become the Membership, Competition Management and Communication software for Rugby Australia is a join partnership between Sportlomo and Australian company Sports Network HQ based in Palm Beach Queensland.

Sportlomo and Sport HQ bid for Australia Rugby Union

Seamus Kyne (left) and Jase Farmer, Sports HQ at Rugby Union Australia

Sports Club HQ is a leading Sports Club and Team Communication platform, with e-commerce which allows for better club & team communications, as well as a way to generate great club revenues.

Sports Club HQ is a successful communications platform based in Australia.  HQ boasts one of the world’s top rugby players, George Gregan on its Board. Gregan is a retired Australian rugby union player, and is currently Australia’s highest ever internationally capped player.

Georgre Gregan, Rugby League Australia most capped player

Ben Ikin, a media personality and pundit with Fox Sports is also a Director on the HQ Network. Ikin is one of Rugby League’s most established media personalities providing expert analysis on studio panels for Fox Sports.


Rugby Union in Australia

Sport is an important part of Australian culture, Cricket, Australian rules football, Rugby union and horse racing are among the earliest organised sports in Australia.

Rugby Union is a winter sport, played throughout Australia, with a history dating back to 1864.
The principal competition in Australian rugby union is Super Rugby, which is a multi-regional competition across the southern hemisphere.

The National Rugby Championship was launched as the next level below Super Rugby in August 2014. Below the NRC are traditional capital city competitions, such as the Shute Shield of Sydney, Queensland Premier Rugby of Brisbane and Pindan Premier Grade of Perth.
The men’s national team are the Wallabies, who have won the Rugby World Cup twice, in 1991 and in 1999. The Wallabies play in Australia’s traditional sporting colours of green and gold. They are considered one of the top rugby nations, owing to success at the World Cup and consistently high ranking, being ranked fifth in the world as of 21 August 2017.

Australia also has a successful sevens team which competes in the Sevens World Series, Rugby World Cup Sevens and the Commonwealth Games. They have won the Hong Kong Sevens event on five occasions, and are also a “core team” that participates in all rounds of the Sevens World Series.

The women’s national rugby union team, the Wallaroos have been playing international rugby since 1994, and have competed at four Women’s Rugby World Cups. Their best finish was third in 2010. Women’s rugby also has a very strong sevens team who compete in the Women’s World Cup Sevens.